Our network

Southern Nevada Students Earn iPads in Essay Contest

Southern Nevada Students Earn iPads in Essay Contest


Twenty high school students are enjoying the new iPads they earned by reducing their carbon footprint and writing a great essay about it.

The students were part of an essay contest held by the Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada, Coca-Cola, Mariana's Supermarkets and the Clark County School District.

The 20 winners were chosen out of the 200 entries from 40 high schools around the Las Vegas valley. They all wrote a 500-word essay describing how they used transit services provided by the RTC to reduce the amount of carbon they personally use.

The winners for the 2013 contest are:

  • Boulder City High School – Collin O’Sullivan
  • Cimarron-Memorial High School – Nicole Deery
  • Coronado High School – Emily Tan
  • College of Southern Nevada High School East – Juliette Burgon
  • College of Southern Nevada High School West  – Jessenia Pippin
  • Del Sol High School – Cristobal Gao
  • Desert Pines High School – Monica Williams
  • East Career and Technical Academy – Alan Bruno
  • Foothill High School – Kalana Keven
  • Las Vegas Academy – Ashley Briggs
  • Mojave High School – Charity Sanders, Dave Boothe Jr.
  • Northwest Career and Technical Academy – Akiko Govan, Jordan Afaga
  • Shadow Ridge High School – Vanessa McDow
  • Silverado High School – Jordan Wachholtz, Tyler Barnard
  • Southeast Career Technical Academy – Jessica Vargas
  • Valley High School – Karol Francisco
  • West Prep High School – Esmeralda Gonzalez